February 01, 2006

6:52 p.m.


Plans

So pretty much that entire CD is about love being linked with death.

It turns out that what Sarah actually said - "love is watching someone die" - is the thesis of the entire album. "The song was inspired by a friend," says Gibbard. "She was walking with her husband one day and just burst into hysterical tears because she realized that one day one of the two of them would have to watch the other die."

I've actually thought about this from time to time. Not that I am certain I will spend the rest of my life with him or anything...but just saying "I love you forever" is a lie because forever lasts a very short amount of time. Even if you make it till those last few breaths, then what? Memories will die because you will die. As if nothing had happened. As if it never existed. you die. he dies. your children die. their children die. and after a few generations, you are nothing but ashes below a willow tree, at best.

and liz you are right (haha not about pocahantas) but rather that in the end who can you count on? everyone is born and dies alone. who will watch me die? oh well. at least right now i know i am loved and thought of.

and also...the new "engage" option on facebook bugs me.

-g1

Contact Me
Exits
Thanks