June 11, 2002

10:56 a.m.


a letter from a crazy teacher

this is what my eng. teacher wrote. great...now i feel guilty for b*Tching bout her every day in 2nd period to g2...well...not that guilty but this does make up for a lot of cr*p we had to suffer through...**g1**

Dear Sophomore Students,

I am flabbergasted, but I don't know that I can find the words to sufficiently describe my feelings about this year (also unfathomable is that loading this letter with copious vocabulary words seems a prodigious task which will be insurmountable). Obviously, I have been overwhelmed and full of stress (cut to multiple crying scenes), but I want to assure you that you, my incredible students, were not the cause. As I have already mentioned, I was taking three graduate classes while trying to grade papers and plan lessons. The other factor, that most of you weren't aware of, is that I was dealing with some medical problems. The only reason that I didn't completely fall apart was due to your kindness, cooperation, and understanding.

If it weren't for the external factors, this would have been the best year of my teaching career. I have never been so fortunate as to have wonderful people in all five of my classes (okay, some of you could work on the student part - completing all your homework- a bit more). Maybe it was the chemistry of the classes; sometimes you can't account for why things just click.

Teachers have some goals that don't change from year-to-year. These are the goals I always hope to achieve: show respect for my students when they show respect for me, provide a rationale for activities so that students know I have a purpose for the lesson (even if they still think it is pointless!), make students take responsibility for their actions and understand the importance of doing so, encourage students to challenge themselves and be confident in their abilities, and instill in students a love for literature (or, at the very least, a healthy respect for literature). I know there are many more items on my list, including English skills I hope to teach or enhance, but those I have listed are my top priorities.

The end of the school year is bittersweet. We are all exhausted and can't wait for a break, yet at the same time there is a degree of sadness. We have spent approximately an hour a day together for 185 days, and then suddenly we don't see each other anymore. Saying "goodbye" and "have a good summer" at the end of the final exam seems so insignificant. Perhaps this is something that teachers feel to a greater degree. The paradox of teaching is that I am supposed to help you become more independent, so watching all of you move on to bigger and better things makes me happy and proud. But, at the same time, it is hard to let all of you go. This year it is particularly difficult.

I hope all of you feel that, overall, English class was a positive experience for you and that I have achieved some of my goals (or at least you had an idea of what I was working toward). Good luck in the future! Stay in touch, even if it is only an email every year or two. I realize it sounds like I am delusional and think all of you are seniors who are graduating, but there are many of you whom I won't see again, even just passing in the hallways- a drawback to a huge school! ([email protected]).

Thank you,

Contact Me
Exits
Thanks