July 28, 2002

12:00 a.m.


weezer quotes, etc.

Rivers' childhood nickname was Weezer - because he had allergies/asthma.

~G2~

awwww...i dunno if this is true or not, but still...i adore it. ack, no more weezer talk. this is getting a little old. but...hm, just a few more quotes then i'm done for good. i don't even know if they're true, but they're interesting...

~G2~

No One Else
"The jealous, obsessive asshole in me freaking out my girlfriend."
-Rivers

The World Has Turned And Left Me Here
"The same asshole wondering why she's gone."
-Rivers

Undone (The Sweater Song)
"The feeling you get when the train stops and the little guy comes knocking on your door. It was supposed to be a sad song, but everyone thinks it's hilarious."
-Rivers

Surf Wax America
"A total sarastic call to hedonism, to sing along, drink and be merry. I hate drinking and only do so when I absolutely have to (which in these days, seems to be quite often)"
-Rivers ~G2~heh, summer reading...

Say It Ain't So
"It's such a complicated story, way too complex to write a song about. I should never have done it. I was really afraid of alcohol at the time. I didn't drink till I was 21, not even a sip. I was petrified of alcohol. "Say it ain't So" was about when I was 16. I opened up the refrigerator and I saw a can of beer. All of a sudden I made the connection that my step-father was leaving...because my father started drinking when he left my mother."
-Rivers

Across The Sea
A song about a real letter Rivers received from a Japanese girl. ~G2~i knew it! grrr...i'm so jealous!

Hash Pipe
"Hash Pipe is about being a transvestite prostitute, which is something I've never written about before. That's the first time I ever wrote a song telling a story from a fictional point of view instead of a real life experience. I mean, yeah, it's definitely less personal."
-Rivers

Rivers
Q. what's with the sugar ray song, "rivers" ?
A. as far as we know, sugar ray are weezer fans and wrote this song as a bit of a homage. cool!
-karl

""The funny thing is that 'Just a Girl' is not even close to ska," interjects Dumont. "It's more of a New Wave thing. I don't know if people are throwing us in with the Rancids�I mean, there's nothing wrong with Rancid, but our song is actually more like Weezer." The rest of the bandmembers nod enthusiastically in assent.""
-No Doubt

""A sellout would be if I kept the same hairstyle just to please people. Well, I don't, and neither do the other guys in the band. We are capable of change. And don't worry. It ain't like we're becoming Weezer, and gonna put Fonzie in our videos! Totally nerd out, y'know?""
-Metallica

""Stan did one of the most beautiful things I ever saw in my life," he continues. "We were playing a show with Weezer in Indianapolis and while they were playing, Stan pulled his pants down and streaked across the stage. Right in the middle of one of their songs and in front of 20,000 people!""
-Sugar Ray

Contact Me
Exits
Thanks